Author Topic: Hypothetical : ME/HORSE clash  (Read 53035 times)

Barnfather

Hypothetical : ME/HORSE clash
« on: August 11, 2009, 12:02:27 PM »
Ok, something I have been mulling over and wondered what other peoples thoughts were. I am new to APAT so don"t know what the etiquette or usual practice is for this....

If you were to make it to day 2 (sunday) in the ME, but had a seat for the HORSE event - what would you do? Would you attempt to sell the seat on the saturday, would you attempt to multitable (which may be hideous difficult given the games in HORSE) or would you blind out in the HORSE and join if/when you get knocked out of the ME?

I guess a lot has to do with chip stacks, as a smaller-than-average chip stack would make me consider blinding out on HORSE in the early levels, but I"m interested into what approach people would take... Would focussing on the ME and ditching HORSE regardless of stack-size be more +EV and hence the better option? Would the smaller field size in HORSE make that a more +EV option?

Of course, the likelihood of me making it to day 2 is slim, hence it all being hypothetical. Just curious

AMRN

• Staker Licensed Player
  • Platinum Member
Re: Hypothetical : ME/HORSE clash
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2009, 12:25:47 PM »
Multi Tabling won"t be allowed. I"ve figured that if I make day 2 of ME, I won"t be selling my HORSE seat - I would like my blnds/antes to be posted until I arrive.... and if I don"t arrive, then I must have gone deep in the ME and defaulting the £50 HORSE entry won"t be a problem.  My thinking is that having something else to do if I crash out of the ME early on day2 will stop me from playing scared (of an early exit) and might in fact help my ME game.

Jon MW

• Global Moderator
  • Platinum Member
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2009, 12:41:12 PM »

Multi Tabling won"t be allowed. ...

What makes you say that?
Jon "the British cowboy" Woodfield
2011 UK Team Championships: Black Belt Poker Team Captain  - - runners up - -