Author Topic: Best Laptop & Mobile Broadband for playing online  (Read 5050 times)

AceOnTheRiver

• Staker Licensed Player
  • Platinum Member
Best Laptop & Mobile Broadband for playing online
« on: March 09, 2010, 20:22:30 PM »
2-part question this

I often find myself having to "book the laptop" for poker tourneys as me a the mrs share one at home so I am thinking of getting another - its principle function being poker.

I am no expert in these matters so wondered what advice people have - the one we use now is Dell and was about £600 in 2007 (It hasn"t let me down) but I would like to spend a lot less this time if poss.

My stepdad recently bought one for around £300 - his needs are different to mine but he designs buildings etc. so uses CAD therefore memory must be decent.

The 2nd part relates to mobile broadband i.e. once I have purchased said laptop there will be occassion when I need to travel with work and would like to take my laptop with me to play online - however this could be 3 times one month and none the next so I don"t want to be committed to something like £30 per month on top of what I already pay at home.

Any help much appreciated!!
@jpround on Twitter
Views are my own
"Do not protect yourself by a fence, but rather by your friends" Czech Proverb
"Where you find beer, you find good life" Another Czech Proverb

lukybugur

• Platinum Member
Re: Best Laptop & Mobile Broadband for playing online
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2010, 21:05:13 PM »
If you"re going cheap end, go for Samsung. Something like this should do you.

For a 3G dongle, 02 do decent deals - see here

If you know anyone with a business and BTBusiness Broadband, ask them if they use the 3G dongle they get with their package (most of them get discarded / stuffed back into the box and remain unused). They come with a 1GB / month transfer which would be more than enough for light use.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2010, 21:08:37 PM by lukybugur »

AceOnTheRiver

• Staker Licensed Player