Author Topic: Was this bad play?  (Read 11008 times)

CrizzyConnor

• Platinum Member
Was this bad play?
« on: December 28, 2007, 06:39:50 AM »
I"ll give you some background on myself first of all. I"m pretty new to poker. I only started playing after coincidently being in Las Vegas at the time of the World Series Main Event this summer and ended a couple of my nights there watching re-runs of the 2004 and 2005 World Series on ESPN. I got home watched a lot more poker, searched the net read up on poker then took the plunge and started playing online.

Now I wouldn"t consider myself a great player at all, I lost around £450 in my first 3 months trying to learn the game. I put in A LOT of hours though and was hooked, addicted even, still am. Anyway around September I started throwing together a few results and went on a streak of easily coming 1st or 2nd in $10 & $20 SNGs, then i"d move up a step and lose it all or put it stupidly into MTT"s. Anyway I"ve still got the -£450ish hanging over my head but I just chalk that down to experience and maybe one day I"ll win it back.

Anyway onto the matter at hand. Now bear in mind, I don"t profess to be a great player whilst reading. I"m asking because I can"t see what I did wrong:

Last night I was playing in a $10 buy in MTT with around 1500 runners. Now I played what I think was the best poker in my life, was winning a lot of pots without showdown and only had one time where I got lucky and was told I "sucked out" - I put someone who was low in chips all in when I had an open ended straight draw with turn and river still to come, I hit.

So I was deep into the tournament with about 160ish runners left and I cant recall for sure but I think the blinds were 400 & 800. So the small blind only had around $1000 left and had to go all in. There was one caller directly before me (he and I where the big stacks at the table with around the mid-20Ks in chips) who just called the big blind...